517.332.5073 ext. 4442

A native of South Dakota, Dr. Monroe holds degrees from the University of Minnesota, Yale Divinity School, and Chicago Theological Seminary. She has served on the board of the Louisville Institute, and the Deaconess Foundation, and she currently serves as the chair of the Discernment of Call for The Living Water Association (Ohio Conference of the United Church of Christ). She is a member of the American Academy of Religion and has taught courses in preaching, pastoral leadership, contemporary culture and theology, and grant writing for non-profit organizations. An accomplished writer, she is the author of Not So Desperate: Fantasy, Fact and Faith on Wisteria Lane (Chalice Press, 2006) and co-author of Living Christianity: A Pastoral Theology for Today (Fortress, 2009). 

Before coming to The Peoples Church, Dr. Monroe served at Plymouth Church UCC in Shaker Heights, Ohio. Before that, she was the pastor of First Congregational Church UCC (Moorhead, MN) and Trinitarian Congregational Church (Concord, MA). Shawnthea is married to Neil Mueller, who teaches trumpet at Central Michigan University, and they have three adult children. Besides her family and ministry, Shawnthea enjoys gardening, canning, and Zumba classes. Shawnthea and Neil say, “We look forward to settling in to East Lansing and getting to know the congregation and the wider community.”



517.332.5073 ext. 4448

Drew considers it an honor and privilege to serve as Associate Pastor here at The Peoples Church. He is excited about leading our Christian Education efforts - from the littlest ones to the most senior and everyone in between. During his time as a pastor, Drew has found it most rewarding to help others learn about, and apply, the Bible to their own lives. His hope and dream is that we can continue to nurture an environment where faith, spirituality and the Bible can be discussed with openness and honesty.


Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Morning Only

Phone: 517.332.5073
Fax: 517.332.1971
E-mail: office@thepeopleschurch.com


Elisha Smith, Youth Director
Kathi Mitchell, Children's Christian Education Director
Judy Kabodian, Musician in Residence
Elizabeth Reed, Children's Music Director
r. Jonathan Reed, Music Director 


Andy Mayville, Facility Director
Gerri Lynn Nichols, Hospitality Coordinator
Dee Przybylski, Office Administrator/Wedding Coordinator


The Council of Elders is the governing body of The Peoples Church. It is made up of 17 representatives elected from the active membership to serve three-year terms. It is responsible for the spiritual, financial, physical and overall welfare of the church and assists the pastors in administering the sacraments or ordinances.

The Council of Elders meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Robertson Room. All members of The Peoples Church community are welcome to attend, or contact the chair (or another elder) prior to a monthly meeting to be included as part of an evening's agenda.

Bob Cantrell *2020 Council of Elders Chairperson
Thad Morgan *2021 Clerk
Ken Beall *2022 Treasurer, Finance Ministry  
Diane Shafer *2020 Welcome Ministry Chairperson
Brad Williams *2021 Personnel Ministry
Kate Jones *2020 Personnel Ministry
Nancy Wilson *2021 Building & Grounds Ministry
Carol Dooley *2022 Christian Education Ministry, Chairperson
Bev Mason *2022 Community Engagement Ministry, Chairperson
Dorothy Spousta *2021 Worship Ministry, Chairperson
Stacy Gronowski *2020 Christian Education
Richard Comstock*2022 Finance  
Rob Privette *2020 Building & Grounds Ministry, Chairperson
John Lindley *2021 Finance Ministry Chairperson
Kari Naghtin *2021 Campus Ministry Chairperson  
Bob Watson *2022 Building & Grounds Ministry  
Mary Nowack *2022 Welcome Ministry  
Rev. Dr. Shawnthea Monroe     
Rev. Drew Filkins  
 Representative Women of Peoples Church

This list reflects the Council of Elders membership for the session beginning Jan. 1, 2020.

*Notes each member's term-ending date as of Dec. 31.